top of page

Weekly Blog (9/12/17-9/18/17)

Weekly Blog

September 12th ,2017 - September 18th, 2017

This week in ISM I have updated my Resume and completed another research assessment. Upon being in the ISM program I have become more and more aware of marketing in my everyday life. With this weeks assessment I wanted to dive deeper and take my knowledge a step forward by taking a look at the marketing I observe and finding out what the company's goal was behind creating that particular campaign. I focused my studies on Dr.Pepper for two reasons. First I will be meeting with my mentor for the first time this school year next week and I want to be up to date on what her company is up to. Secondly, researching applicable topics help me to better understand the underlying information being presented. By finding out what exactly Dr.Pepper wants their brand to stand for, when I now observe how their marketing reaches me as a consumer, I am able to see how their brand image is portrayed through their campaigns. On the other hand, I had an eye opening experience while looking at articles for my assessment. When I clicked on an article to view a box popped up. First asking if I wanted to subscribe to the website. Not paying much attention to the ad I clicked “no” which was then followed with a new box asking my age and gender. I seemingly clicked “15-17” and “female” out of the list of options. From here a venus razor ad played on my screen for the mandatory thirty seconds before I could continue to the website. While for most this is seen as a common annoyance, this common ad was something I had never experienced. By asking my age the website and it’s sponsors lead me to a tailored advertisement about razors. This ad helped me to understand how marketers are tailoring their campaigns to various target audiences and their simplicity in doing so.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page