top of page

Weekly Report (3/21/17-3/27/17)

Weekly Report

March 21st,2017 - March 27th, 2017

During my mentor visit this week one of the topics we discussed was marketing in college and post grad. I felt that this was important to discuss with my mentor because she is involved with grad school recruitment and would have some great advice to give me, since I will be applying to colleges this July. One of the first things discussed was undergrad. Here Mrs. Weatherl described to me the two majors marketing can be found in: communications and business. Business is more corporate oriented with finance and administration while communications is more advertising oriented with jobs like working at an agency. Both she said are looked equally upon by employers. This was reassuring because many of the schools that I am applying to have phenomenal business schools that are difficult to get into, so knowing that a major in communications is also sufficient relieved some of that stress. When discussing grad school and getting a masters degree, my mentor said that there are multiple ways or reasons that this may be achieved. One of the biggest pieces of advice I received in relation to this was to gain some work experience for 2-3 years before going back to get a masters. This is industry specific and differs from other business professions in that they may prefer a graduate degree in order to even hire. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed listening and obtaining all the information my mentor gave to me and I am very lucky to have this experience so that I will be better equipped when I go off into college and my future career.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page