top of page

Weekly Report (11/15/16-11/21/16)

Weekly Report

November 15th, 2016 - November 21st, 2016

This week I was able to wrap up my informational interviews with one final interview with Pam Astorga. This interview was valuable because it combined both the careers of marketing and event planning. Through this I was able to gain a new perspective on marketing in correlation to my original topic of study, events. Some of the things that interested me about the interview were the trade shows. Ms.Astorga showed me multiple pictures of the major trade shows and company events that she has helped put on. By explaining the behind the scenes efforts that goes into these events, I was able to gain a deeper understanding of the industry and some of the tasks I would be completing in either a career in marketing or events. Overall, I was able to see a clearer connection between the two professions. When reflecting back on all of my 9 informational interviews the amount of growth I have experienced is extreme. From being extremely nervous and having difficulty holding a conversation to being confident and proficient in my business communication skills is something that I would consider a huge personal improvement. The informational interviews have enabled me to have a taste of what goes on, and how to interact in the corporate business world. Getting a head start on learning how to communicate with professionals and making connections has enabled me to obtain early business experience that puts me a step ahead when entering college and a future job. Overall I am very fortunate to be in the ISM program and by going above the required number of interviews I have pushed myself to reach my goal of completing 8 informational interviews, and have actually exceeded that goal by completing 9. Finishing my first set of informational interviews has led me to feel a sense of accomplishment and is my first big success in the ISM program.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page