top of page

Weekly Report (9/13/16 - 9/19/16)

Weekly Report

September 13th, 2016 - September 19th, 2016

This past week I have began to conduct informational interviews and meet with professionals in the event planning field. The first interview I conducted was geared towards the sales aspect of event planning, the second corporate, and third social. I feel it has been extremely beneficial to have a variety of viewpoints from different professionals. Through the interviews I learned some valuable information that will guide my future interviews and studies. When talking with a corporate event planner I realized that I am definitely interested in pursuing a career in the business industry. Based on personal interests and self evaluation, I feel I may want to veer my studies towards business and marketing, which go hand and hand with event planning. Going forward I hope to interview professionals who are, or have been involved in marketing to broaden my perspectives. This will help me in the near future when trying to figure out which colleges to apply to based on the programs they offer. Something I found difficulty in this week, personally, was trying to maintain a conversation and not just read off my list of questions. The corporate world requires a great deal of communication skills so I am putting heavy emphasis on trying to improve my confidence and poise when talking with professionals. By doing this I will hopefully give off the impression of being intelligent and sociable. Overall the past week has really pushed me outside of my comfort zone and allowed be to try new things that increased my social skills, experience, and knowledge. I have been able to get a firsthand look at the professional world and am excited to continue conducting informational interviews.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page