top of page

Weekly Report (9/5/16 - 9/12/16)

Weekly Report

September 5th, 2016- September 12th, 2016

This week has included the most hours of work thus far. Conducting a contact list was more difficult than expected and definitely took more time than intended. Emailing professionals was my first taste of the professionalism and maturity it takes to succeed in this class. Although the hours of searching through Linkedin and and various company websites were tedious, the emails I received back reaffirmed the value of hard work I am putting into ISM. It meant a great deal to have successful professionals taking time out of their busy schedules to respond back to my emails. Their enthusiasm and willingness to coordinate informational interviews has left me excited and encouraged to continue putting in the hours to achieve success in this industry. While I have heard back from many of the professionals I reached out too, there are still some who I am interested in interviewing who have not yet responded. Through this I have learned to not take any response, or lack thereof, personally and be understanding of the busy schedules and jobs professionals have to juggle. Since contacting professionals, I have become more aware of my social media posts, phone greetings, and professionalism in my digital portfolio. I want to prove to those that I interview my maturity and authenticity in wanting to suceed in the corporate world. Furthermore, when brainstorming informational interview questions it really made me question and uncover what I'm truly curious about, and what information I can easily look up on google. I also learned some valuable information on a general principle of how to prepare for an interview by conducting background research on the professional and their company to show responsibility in my interview. Being my first year in ISM, and first time to really dive into a deeper understanding of Corporate event planning, formulating these questions took a lot of thought in trying to narrow down all that I wanted to learn into 15-20 questions. Overall this week has been a learning experience on how to professionally communicate with individuals in the corporate world and the value of conducting research to improve my success in this ISM journey.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page